You are here

From Research to Reality - Annual Participants’ Forum

Monday, 19 November 2018 to Tuesday, 20 November 2018
Event type: 

This was an exciting and unique opportunity to hear and experience, first-hand, how the CRCLCL’s research is lowering carbon emissions in the built environment.

As the CRCLCL moves towards its successful completion in 2019, the Forum offered the opportunity to showcase key achievements – which are many – as well as look to the future, and how the CRCLCL’s important research will continue through its students, researchers, leaders and industry partners.

Former ABC journalist Genevieve Jacobs was the MC for the event held at Adelaide’s iconic National Wine Centre of Australia, on Monday,19 and Tuesday, 20 November 2018. 

The Forum included a site tour of the inspiring Tonsley Living Laboratory, Australia’s first Innovation District with a 6 Star Green Star Communities rating, plus a variety of presentations on topics including: world-leading blockchain technology, low carbon tourism and schools, Urban Heat Island mitigation, carbon metric tools for precincts, as well as the chance to hear rapid-fire pitches from our HDR students to industry.

Access the full program HERE

Speakers were:

Brian Collins - Professor of Engineering Policy at University College London and Director of the International Centre for Infrastructure Futures

The Hon Mark Butler, MP  -  Shadow Minister for Climate Change and Energy and Labor Member for Port Adelaide 

Dr Neil McFarlane, Director of Climate Change, Environment and Water South Australia

Dr Jemma Green - Co-founder and Chair of Power Ledger

Ivo Martinac - Professor and Chair, Building Services and Energy Systems, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm

Alison Collins - Team Leader Strategic Research at Department of Planning, Transport and Infrastructure (DPTI), South Australia

Richard Turner - Founder and Director of Innovation, SIMEC ZEN Energy


Here are presentations approved for publication for DAY 1 andDAY 2.

Read CRCLC Deputy Chair Sandy Hollway's closing remarks HERE